Stella dot com

by Stella

I’ve been thinking a lot about the idea of turning yourself into a brand. Is it all ego or can it be done skillfully? Interestingly enough this contemplation has now taken on two heads – not only am I thinking about myself as a brand but also the website where I am currently working as a content editor. I have been spending more hours than I care to admit on the computer working on my personal website and the other (which should go nameless for now…mysterious). Part of my work recently has been “research.” Basically looking at other zines, blogs, and social networking platforms to see what is out there and how people use these sites.

I have friends with websites who have a blog that is loosely tied in with their work or field of study. Their sites also feature a resume and a short biography. It looks like the intention here is to sell themselves in a sense – get a job! That is certainly an aspect of my mission here at wordpress. I would love to write for a living and this is a platform where I can word spew and try and find my voice. I have a voice that I use for poetry and for academic writing, but what about my blog voice?

In a lot of the zines I have seen the person who writes an article has a particular voice and style. I have a funny fear that the articles I am posting on the site aren’t a good representation of my voice. Really this boils down to that age old fear about how others perceive me. Despite attempts to squash, outsmart, and reject these thoughts they return, so I wonder how I can transform the concern about what others think about me into a beneficial meditation.

I represent Dzogchen, and my teacher Khenpo Choga Rinpoche. I represent the Dharma. I represent my family. I represent my thinking. How I interact with the world, my conduct, effects people; therefore, my I need to be aware and mindful of the messages I am putting out “there.” I’m pretty sure this is not something to obsess over, but as long as my face and my name are out there (or “here” rather) I need to use this opportunity to spread virtue rather than vice.

So, that said I will continue to explore this idea of branding myself. Who and what am I? How do I want to represent myself and my community? How do my relative goals mesh with my absolute goal? This could easily become a place to decorate my ego-clinging with graphics and words and a pretty template. I don’t want to fall into that trap. Thankfully I have three awesome tools in my toolbox:

1. Recollection – remember Buddha’s teachings

2. Mindfulness – speak and act with awareness

3. Vigilance – ensure that my body, speech, and mind are not harming myself or others.

I vow to keep undertake my blogging and branding efforts with recollection, mindfulness, and vigilance for the true happiness of all beings!

First things first, what the heck do I put in these funny little boxes that ask for a bio in 5 lines?! Let the branding begin.

“I’m a yoga teacher not a cow, why do I need a brand?”

If you find yourself facing a similar dilemma, maybe this article can help. It helped me by giving my a chuckle and some great insight.

 

 

